News and Announcements Home
The original item was published from 5/10/2022 3:38:55 PM to 6/11/2022 12:00:01 AM.

News and Announcements

1 2 3 Top Stories

Posted on: May 10, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Camden County Earns National Achievement Award for Collaborative Transportation Program

Camden County, Georgia has been recognized with an Achievement Award from the National Association of Counties (NACo). The awards honor innovative, effective county government programs that strengthen services for residents. 

“I am excited about the announcement of Camden County’s latest National Achievement Award. Our Board of Commissioners and staff work to implement best practices to provide excellent public service to the citizens of Camden County,” said County Administrator Steve Howard. “This accomplishment recognizes the efficient, effective, and forward-thinking ideas and programs in Camden County government and the work they do to assist county residents.” 

This year, NACo recognized Camden County’s Rural Transportation Collaborative Partnerships in the category of Transportation. Utilizing existing regional partnerships, Camden County proposed spending American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds to assist in providing a fair and equitable resource for those without transportation. Through the Rural Transportation Collaborative Partnerships, Camden County partnered with the City of St. Marys and the Coastal Regional Commission (CRC) to pay for ridership fees for the Coastal Regional Coaches, a Federal Rural Transportation Program. Citizens that reside within unincorporated Camden County and the Cities of St Marys, Kingsland, and Woodbine are eligible to ride free anywhere within the 613 square miles of Camden County.

NACo President Larry Johnson said, “All across the country, counties are working tirelessly to support residents and drive recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic. This year's Achievement Award-winning programs showcase how counties work every day to build healthy, safe and thriving communities.”

Nationally, awards are given in 18 different categories that reflect the vast, comprehensive services counties provide. The categories include children and youth, criminal justice and public safety, county administration, information technology, health, civic engagement, and many more.

Started in 1970, NACo’s annual Achievement Awards program is designed to recognize county government innovations. Each nominee is judged on its own merits and not against other applications received.

Full Press Release (PDF)
Facebook Twitter Email